Skip to content

The Society and its History

The History of the Hawkesbury Show

The Hawkesbury Show has been an annual event for the village for over 130 years. This section will provide you with some more information about the shows history, Annual Awards, Past Winners, and Historic Carnival Kings and Queens.

The Society

Hawkesbury Horticultural Society, Founded 1885

His Grace, the Duke of Beaufort


Mr Richard Kingston

Vice President

Mr Alan Smith

Vice President

Mr Terry Truebody

Vice President

Mr David Harris

Vice President

Keith Player


Sally Bleaken

Vice Chairman

Julian Round

Hon Treasurer

Charene Winbow

Entries Secretary

Vicky Rispin

Show Bookings Secretary

Mel Thompson

Show Secretary

Siobhan Biglands

Committee Member

Danielle Boulton

Committee Member

Tom Kempster

Committee Member

Tamsin Magrath

Committee Member

Louise Lumsden

Committee Member

Fiona Dunkerly

Committee Member

James Dunkerly

Committee Member

Our grateful thanks go to the following for their support for the 2023 Show:
His Grace, the Duke of Beaufort; Badminton Estate; Hawkesbury Stores; Hawkesbury Post Office; Hawkesbury Parish News; Compere Martin Gardener; All volunteer Judges & Stewards, Gate stewards, results recorders and certificate writers; Derek Aston of Yate Supplies,  Auctioneer Mr Nick Cragg (Country Property); Sir James Dyson, Andy and Hayley Godwin; Jonathan and Kaye Hawkins; Mrs Audrey Cole; Tom Cole; Robin Watts;  Simon and Katherine Kempster; Louise Roberts; Ronja Richards; Tim Watts; Max Bleaken; Miles Batten and Giles Bleaken (M & G Countryside Development), Mrs Glady Dix and all the wonderful volunteers, too many to mention, but without whom the bar would not function;

A BIG thank you to everyone who helped set-up and clear away, and, finally, to all the prize winners who kindly donated their cash prizes back to the Show funds.